Yeah! Its finally… Time to Sign-up for Round 3 of Quadblogging

http://quadblogging.net/

I’ve been waiting for this for quite a while!  Back when I started taking online courses, one of my first assignments was to explore teacher or classroom blogs for great ideas and report my findings back to my classmates.  I thought I stumbled on a jackpot when I came across the idea of quadblogging.  First of all, I wasn’t all that familiar with classroom blogging, so quadblogging really blew my mind and I’ve been waiting to sign my own class up for it ever since then!

So, what is Quadblogging you ask?  Well, besides the obvious- the quad- in this case it is 4 classrooms from all over the globe, who sign up to be blogging partners.  The teachers decide on the activities or projects that the students will blog about.  Here is an explanation of quadblogging created by 4 classes:

one of my favorite examples of quadblogging in action: http://yollisclassblog.blogspot.com/2011/07/langwitches-video-of-mystery-skype-call.html


This was a mystery skype with another class, talk about authentic learning! Students had to figure out where the other class was located by using geography clues, watch how cool it is:

All projects target numerous academic standards and the engagement level for students (and teachers) is off the charts.  I plan to utilize Skype, Glogster, Animoto, PicMonkey and Voice Thread applications during my quadblogging activities, they are all easy to use applications that are perfect for 9 or 10 year old kids (and up) and they don’t take a lot of time to learn how to use them if the teacher is new to technology.

If you are looking for a great way to dive into technology during the September 2012 school year- you should consider quadblogging- you can hook up with 3 other teachers to help you along your journey!  I can’t wait to find out who my blogging buddies will be!

Special thanks to David Mitchell for coming up with this great idea and managing to find the time to keep it going! You are much appreciated!! Here is David talking about quadblogging:

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miss Crowther
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 01:06:30

    Hello,

    I’ve just discovered your blog and enjoyed reading through it. I teach a grade 3/4 class in Australia. I really like the idea of a mystery Skype call and was hoping you would be our mystery partner as my class hasn’t looked at your class blog yet, so it would be quite a challenge!

    Happy blogging,
    Miss Crowther
    Upper Plenty P.S, Victoria, Australia

    Reply

  2. kdibat
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 11:52:49

    HI Miss Crowther, we would be honored to mystery Skype with your class! My school email is kdibattista@ojrsd.com, school starts the first week of September for us, we can get busy right away if you’d like. Thanks for contacting me! Kellie DiBattista
    French Creek Elementary School
    Pottstown, PA USA

    Reply

  3. maxjoyner2278
    Jun 11, 2019 @ 20:07:25

    Hi, I wish for to subscribe for this web site to obtain latest updates, therefore where can i do it please help.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Rubber Stamp Letter D Wooden Brick Letter i Foam Stamp Letter B Foam Letter a Stickle Brick Letter t letter i Stickle Brick Letter s Brick letter t A